Since Russia's recognition of the non-government-controlled areas of the Donetsk and Luhansk oblasts in the Ukraine on 21 February 2022 and the unprovoked and unjustified invasion of the Ukraine on 24 February 2022, the EU has imposed a series of new sanctions against Russia.

They are added to the existing measures imposed on Russia since 2014 following the annexation of Crimea and the non-implementation of the Minsk agreements.

Since February, the EU has imposed five packages of sanctions against Russia, including targeted restrictive measures (individual sanctions), economic sanctions and diplomatic measures.

The EU has also adopted sanctions against Belarus in response to its involvement in the invasion of the Ukraine.

You can follow all updated information on sanctions by clicking on this link on the European Commission website.